Smalltownfoodsnobs's Blog

Chef Al’s Campus Corner – Lewiston, ID. | June 10, 2012

The first time I ate at Chef Al’s Campus Corner it was a cold Day.  In June.  A  constant drizzle of rain and a grey clouds surrounded the LC Valley.  As I walked up to the front door I was kind of  cold, yet over dressed , and eager to eat.  Ok, I admit it – I was Hangry.  But, I was meeting my new food-friend Angie and I was looking forward to good food and good company.  (Plus we share food, which makes me crazy happy).

When I opened the doors to his restaurant right across from the LCSC Campus, I couldn’t help but smile.  It was like stepping into a time machine and walking into a party – that I was happy to join.  Frank Sinatra proudly plays on the stereo, the bar stools look fun and inviting, while some of the regulars, older gentleman, banter from tables and look genuinely happy sipping on their house Warm Coffee and Cool Iced Tea.  This feels like the place where the cool “old guys” come.  And while I’m not very old (I’ll never tell), this is a new favorite of mine and a must-eat-at-place, when you visit Lewiston.

I told Chef Al to cook what he wanted me to eat.  And when my Grilled Portobello Mushroom Sandwich came to the table, I was a bit shocked, excited, nervous.  It was so pretty!  But, I haven’t had “life-changing” experiences with Portobello Mushroom Burgers – which is kinda my thing.

It was love at first bite.  Sweet caramelized onions, delicious garlic flavors, the large Portobello Mushroom cap was meaty, thick, tender – perfect consistency.  The large Sweet Roasted Red Pepper was also bursting with flavor and gave good texture to the burger.  The melted cheese was lovely and the crunchy lettuce and fresh tomato were just right.  What really got me was the Lemon Aioli.  So fresh, clean and not heavy and flavorless like mayo.  I really don’t have any need to eat a Meat Burger again.  This is my new favorite Burger in the Valley.  Not at all what I was expecting, and I can hardly wait to share it with all my friends. (It’s huge people).

Next he brought out a Mango Chicken Salad Sandwich (The Daily Special)

Another sandwich Ive never had before.  The flaky croissant was the perfect vessel for the juicy chicken, crunchy lettuce, fresh floral mango, crunchy red onion, earthy cilantro and fresh tomato.  It was delicious and filling.  After my half of that, and half Portobello sandwich, I was out.   Very happy and had completely forgotten about the weather, clouds, time, everything.  It was so surprisingly delicious.

Chef Al has been cooking for 37 years, so I shouldn’t be so surprised that it was a delicious meal.  Born in New Jersey, he fell in love with Moscow while delivering his brothers truck, who lived there at the time.  After working his way around a kitchen for many years, he attended the California culinary Academy in June 1986.  Chef Al’s Campus Corner opened 2.5 years ago after his restaurant Henry J’s Closed.  Many Lewiston Natives will remember Henry J’s as a great joint with delicious food at 908 16th Ave. in Lewiston (Where now Pita Pit resides).

I was never able to eat there, but I hear it was great.  And I’m happy Chef Al is still cooking in the Valley.  The dinner menu changes weekly based on what he feels.  Usually a fish, beef, pork, chicken and maybe a vegetarian option are available. Lunch is served Monday through Saturday from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM.  Dinner on Friday and Saturday only 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM.   Chef Al’s i s located at 607 7th Ave.  They also feature Soup, Salads, Ice Cream, Treats and food to-go.  Their phone number is (208) 743-1941.  They also offer free Wifi – so you can pull up to a stool, work and eat.  Or stop by for dinner with your honey!  I know I will be soon.

Chef Al’s Mantra is:  “EAT GOOD FOOD”.

I like it.

-michaela


5 Comments »

  1. This is a great read. The only problem is that I am so jealous I am not there with you eating that great food.

    Comment by ibelonginafrica — June 10, 2012 @ 10:57 pm

    • I can’t wait till you visit again and we can enjoy this delicious food together Aunt B.
      Until then, I’ll keep searching for the best!

      Comment by smalltownfoodsnobs — June 11, 2012 @ 1:31 am

  2. They add a meaty flavor and texture to stir-fry, pastas, soups, entrees and sides.

    Comment by gold account — July 4, 2012 @ 12:55 pm

  3. […] burger gal.  I just love a delicious Veggie burger with guacamole, or the Portobello burger at Chef Al’s, or if I’m going to eat meat – I’m going to the Lunch Box Deli!  But, this […]

    Pingback by Simple Eats rolls out delicious new menu! « Smalltownfoodsnobs's Blog — January 29, 2013 @ 8:54 am

  4. […] owner of Bridge Baking in Lewiston.  Located at 607 7th Ave., it was previously occupied by “Chef Al’s“.  This delicious Gluten-Free (GF) bakery offers a selection of sandwich and artisan breads, […]

    Pingback by Bridge Baking in Lewiston – delicious food for ALL! | Smalltownfoodsnobs's Blog — September 21, 2013 @ 7:51 am


Leave a comment

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other subscribers

    Contact Me!

    smalltownfoodsnobs@gmail.com

    Archives